Half Broke Horses – Book Review

I’m sure you remember this:

I mentioned some weeks ago that I’d joined Big Mama’s virtual Book Club and that we’re reading Jeannette Walls’ “Half Broke Horses”. Well, today’s the day and we’re going to talk about it. If you’d like to read any other opinions than mine (and I’m sure you do) head over to Big Mama

First off. I have to admit that I would never have chosen the book myself. It’s not the book I’d normally read. I’m more a Penguin Classics reader.

BUT, I really enjoyed reading the book and I’m considering getting myself a copy of “The Glass Castle”. Back to “Half Broke Horses”. It’s kind of a memoir of Jeannette’s grandmother, but written from the perspective of said grandmother. That makes it really vivid to read. On the other hand it reminded me of a “western story”. No offense ment, it was just what kept coming into my mind.

Among my favorite passages were the following:

  • p. 6, after the flash flood when Lily and her siblings come back and her mother praises that they were saved by an angel and Lily opposes this imagination her dad says: “Well darling, maybe that angel was you.”
    I loved this one, because the imagination of an angel is so opposite of Lily’s whole character and attitude.
  • p. 46, Lily is sent to a boarding school and she listens to all the other girls complaining about how “hard” life is at the school, while Lily says that “life at the academy felt like one long vacation.”
  • p. 51, because her father isn’t able to pay for her school any more Lily has to go back home after just one year and she’s devastated, but Mother Albertina says to her: “When God closes a window, he opens a door. But it’s up to you to find it.”
    That’s so true. There are always other chances and possibilities, but we won’t find them when we sit at home complaining. I think I’m going to make this my new mantra…
  • p. 201, after learning to drive a car, Lily also wants to learn how to fly an airplane. So, one time they come by an airplane and Lily asks the pilot to teach her. He makes fun of her at first, calling her “little lady”, but in the end with her tough attitude she convinces him to take her flying.
    Lily was never a person to give up. She fought hard for everything, but she also achieved all the goals she had set herself!

If you’re looking for a good read it sure is and you have my recommendation. I don’t know if I’ll take part in the next reading, if there is one, but I really enjoyed this one.

Now head over to Big Mama and give your opinion…

3 thoughts on “Half Broke Horses – Book Review

  1. I’m now reading The Glass Castle because I loved this book so much. They are very different. It’s interesting to see how different Jeannette is than Lily. If you ever decide to read it, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

