Where am I?

Villa Vizcaya was built by James Deering in the 1910s and served as a winter home. It was intended to appear as an Italian estate and the expansive gardens combine elements of Renaissance Italian and French designs.

That’s what my guide read. And this is what I found:

More than a villa it reminded me of the old Spanish town houses that almost look like fortresses. I couldn’t take any pictures inside the house, but it was just as impressive as the outside. In my eyes, who have seen more than one European castle, it was like a compressed Europe. All the styles mixed together blended perfectly and created a great place. After touring the house I just sat on a bank in the garden and rested for some time enjoying the park…

And then, it was time to head back to the hotel. The sun was already going down and I still had to pack my bags to fly home the next day.

Leave a Reply

