On being back…

I’ve had the worst writer’s block I’ve ever experienced. I feel like I’m bubbling over with stories to tell, but I can’t bring them down to words. I expected this much, when I prepared for my absence and scheduled a few more posts than I would actually be away, but even after being back for over a week now, I’m still struggling.

I got back on Nov. 24 and have been incredibly busy since. My diploma thesis for university is waiting to be written, Christmas shopping is long due, work only gave me 2 short days to recover and the remnants of the water leakage in our apartment were waiting for me…

But let me no longer wail, but tell you instead about my fabulous November!

On November 4, I left for an incredible trip to Florida. I had been planning to become a Yoga teacher for a long time and immediately jumped on the wagon when my yoga teacher recommended that I go to Yogi Hari’s Ashram for the 2 week residential teachers training course.

A unique experience.

The daily schedule seems to be quite hard and it was, I can assure you, but it all comes down to how much self-discipline you have.

We started at 6 in the morning with Meditation. Have you ever tried Meditation? Well, the “scientific” definition is that you stay focused on an object for more than 2 minutes. Impossible. Nearly, yes, but just to try and be able to sit still for 2 minutes gives you motivation to keep trying. After Meditation we would have a lecture on the philosophy and history of Yoga.

At 8 it was time to do Asanas, i. e. time for a Hatha Yoga Class. I know that I’m not very flexible, I have some strength and I know my body quite well, but flexibility is not my strength. But, it didn’t matter which level of Yoga we all had, our teachers got us dripping with sweat after 5 minutes. And I’ve never had so much fun with Yoga classes before.

After class, we had delicious Vegetarian/Vegan breakfast. It was mainly Oatmeal, bagels, etc. and sometimes we’d be spoiled with some delicious Indian meals, like Kitchery.

Around noon-time we did one hour of Karma Yoga, which basically means that we did clean the kitchen, house and helped in the garden and then had a two hour break, which we generally used to sleep or study.

In the afternoon we had a two hour lecture on the human anatomy, how to conduct a yoga class, which core elements to remind, etc. We were able to put all these things to practice during the classes each of us students held in the afternoon. This was really helpful and interesting. To see the way people were teaching we were able to remember some of the things for our own classes.

At 6, we had dinner. I’ll post some of the recipes here as soon as I get to cook them, because I enjoyed them so much. I like Indian food in general and I just LOVED what Yogi Hari’s wife prepared for us every day. It were mainly quite simple things, but absolutely rich and flavorfull.

In the evening we had another hour of Meditation and Lecture. I think it’s a great way to end the day the same way you’re starting it. It makes things round and gives you the possibility to positively start and end the day!

This was pretty much the everyday schedule. It was nice to be able to totally focus on yourself. A really calming, peaceful experience.

Join me again next week to tell you more about the Ashram and my trip to Miami!

Leave a Reply

