Jewellry Hanger – Part 1

This post was originally written in April 2010. It’s part of the series of posts I wish more people had read and which I will repost during my absence…

Do you have any idea what this is for? No? Well, I’m gonna tell you:

I suppose you all know the problem with your jewelry… You’ve got tons of necklaces, earrings, etc. and whenever you want something specific you can’t find it or when you’ve finally found it it’s twirled together with lots of other stuff and you need an hour to untwirl it. Sounds familiar to you?

To me, too.  My vice (do you say vice?) are earrings. I don’t know how many pairs I have. But I also have tons of necklaces and stuff.  I tried lots of methods to store them, from putting every single thing into an individual bag (very expensive! Stopped that immediately), to keeping them in separate boxes according to the type of jewelry or just throwing them all in one big box. Nothing worked out for me. So. many weeks ago, I visited Lemonade Makin’ Mama’s blog and I saw this:

And in some way that got me inspired. I thought about a new way to organize my jewelry and I came up with this:

It’s a huge wodden board that is divided into varios sections. A shelf on the top with small bowls that I can put all kinds of things into. A Earring Hanger that I purchased in the Internet and various hooks to hang my necklaces and pendants.

I started with the hanging for the whole board. Thankfully my dad helped me, because I wouldn’t have been able to do this myself.

Afterwards I painted all the parts in “White-Grey”. This was the most fun part, as I love painting (not very talented, but I LOVE playing with colors). To keep things simple and let all the wonderful parts of jewlery play the main part I just chose the white.

Then, I attached the little bowls, the hangers for the necklaces and the bars for the pendants. I’m still not absolutely finished, because I’ve got to find a way how to attach the earring hanger, but the rest is done. And I couldn’t wait any longer, but had to show you the result:

Orders are being taken beginning May 1st ;-). No, seriously, doesn’t it look great? I think so. I’m sorry for the bad quality of the pictures. The empty space is for the earring hanger. I’ll show you another picture when I’m totally finished. Promised…

Now head back to the pictures and enjoy the view…

Leave a Reply

