Making Spaetzle

This post was originally written in March 2010. It’s part of the series of posts I wish more people had read and which I will repost during my absence…

Spaetzle is a typical food for Bavaria. I can’t think of much else and I just LOVE them. They are quite simple to prepare, you just need eggs, flour, tap water and salt. And the recipe is also really quick!

You need about 100 g flour per egg. So for two eggs you’d take about 200 g flour and about 80 ml water. The amount differs depending on what you use to make the spaetzle. I used a spaetzle planer which you can see on the picture. You can also just grate them using a tray and a knife (this is quite tricky). If you grate them you’ll need rather less water because you need the dough to be quite sticky. Using a planer, like I did, it’s more useful to make the dough a bit more fluid.

You start mixing the flour, salt and eggs together and then add the water bit by bit. It’s quite a sticky dough a bit like a muffin dough.

Then put water in a big pot and heat it until it’s boiling. When the water’s boiling, you can start making the spaetzle:

Put some of the dough in the planer and start moving it up and down. If you grate them take the knife and grate small parts of the dough directly from the tray into the boiling water. When the top of the water is covered with spaetzle stop grating/planing for a moment. Keep the water boiling for 2-5 mins. and then remove them from the water. Put the on a tray to drain. Repeat this process until there is no dough left.

I used about 7 eggs and got 1.5 kg of spaetzle… Quite a lot, I know, but you can freeze them without any problems. If you don’t want to eat them right away, you can freeze them now. Or you continue to eat them immediately. You can use them as side dish or eat them with mushrooms and cream sauce or cabbage.

Put a pan on the stove and heat it with a bit of butter. Then put the amount you want to eat into the pan and fry them until they get a golden touch (about 10 mins). I had them with cabbage and that tastes just delicious!

3 thoughts on “Making Spaetzle

  1. It looks just the same as something I call “klot”. Dont know whats the right name, but maby Flourball (Melbolle. Mel – flour. bolle – ball)
    I just love them aswell!

  2. And then I read a bit more 😉 We take a tspoon with the “mix” and putt it in meat-stock.

    I have been to germany only one time, but I eat Spaetzle that time 🙂

Leave a Reply

