Bring out the best in me…

For most bloggers it’s a the fundamental decision. For me it was more a random choice to begin with. And because I felt a little more comfortable I went for WordPress. And I still really like it. I feel comfortable while writing my posts in an almost Windows-Word like atmosphere.

However, sometimes I miss some diversity. If I want to highlight something I write I can choose between bold and italic, but that’s about it. I cannot really choose the size except for headlines.

Also, using the standard version I cannot make many changes to my blog design. Of course, I can choose from a great range of themes, but they are all preformated.

While reading other blogs I’ve noticed that most of you use Google’s Blogger. I also tried this one and find it quite handy, too. Also it has more of the design possibilities I’m missing here at WordPress. But I’m really comfortable and don’t really want to move. But I still would like to add more of my personality to the blog. So what am I to do?

I did some research for upgrading opportunities here at WordPress and I found out that there are some possibilities, Such as owning my own domain and getting a CSS upgrade that allows me to change the blog’s appearance. Both upgrades would be about $ 30 a year which isn’t much. But it would be too much if I didn’t use any of the features.

So anybody got any tips, ideas or opinion? I’d be glad to know what you’re thinking and why you chose the platform you’re using. Is there anything else beside the two big ones that you’d recommend?

Thanks a lot for your answers!

4 thoughts on “Bring out the best in me…

  1. I love WordPress. I started out with a blog on wordpress.com and then eventually got my own domain and paid for a host service (which is honestly available for not much more than $30 a year if you shop around and it gives you complete freedom over design/layout).

    However, if you want to get your “feet wet” a little bit, just the CSS upgrade (for like $15/year) would be a good start. You can start playing around with the CSS of a theme and tweak it to your liking (I can help a little bit with it – I am not a pro, but I self-taught myself quite a bit).
    Then, if you like it, you can always upgrade from there.

  2. I don’t much advice but I had the same dilemma a while ago. I was with WordPress but ultimately switched to Blogger because of the same reason you mentioned: I can have my own design and the best thing about it, it’s free!!!

  3. I definitely don’t want to leave wordpress, but I am interested in what you find out. I am going to have to upgrade pretty soon to get more picture space. Would love to hear how it turns out. I know nothing about design or CSS stuff. 🙂

  4. Thanks for your answers so far. I haven’t decided anything yet.
    @ angelia: Have you ever tried flickr? I find this pretty useful if I have more pictures I want to use in one post… And you can upgrade to “pro”, too…

Leave a Reply

