St. Malo

This is one of the old posts I had in my former blog. After I had got home from my exchange semester in Spain I travelled straight away to France to see my boyfriend – who was spending his year abroad in France. He stayed in Rennes, a small town in northwest France and from there we did various trips to the surrounding cities. Indeed, if you’re planning to make a trip to Europe or France make sure you spend some days in the Bretagne. It’s one of the most beautiful regions I know in Europe.

So here we go. One of the trips we did was travelling to the sea. Unfortunately, it being March, we didn’t have the best weather, but still we had a lot of fun…

On this first picture you can see the old castle. We took this pic right after we got off the bus. Today they have all the city administration in the castle, so it’s not open to the public. That’s really a shame, I think, as I imagine one would have a wonderful view from the tower.

The castle lies directly at the coast and close to the harbor which is behind us.


So, of course, the first thing we did, was walking to the coastal line. This was right behind the castle. They have quite a tide there. I’d say it makes up to 4 metres. When we arrived it was high tide and the water was just beginning to pull back. This was very good, because it meant that we’d be able to go to one of the many islands they have around…

One of the many things St. Malo is so special about, is that you can walk right around the old city centre on the town wall. Actually, the whole city was destroyed during WWII, but was rebuilt in it’s original way afterwards. This is a look into the city. I think it looks quite chaotic, doesn’t it?

For lunch we went into the city. It looks very similar from the inside, as it does from the outside. Tiny streets going up and down:

Sometimes, you felt like you had walked right into the scene of a movie and I expected a horserider to come around the corner more than once! Also the light was incredible, though it was quite cloudy that day, sometimes the sun would come out and create this surreal feeling…

Before going home we went back to the beach and walked over to one of the islands. I really loved this – along the way were about a ton of empty sea shells and I started collecting some. Well, I could have taken ALL of them, because one was more beautiful than the other. However, my boyfriend wanted to get to the island and BACK again before the tide came back. It was a close call, as you can see in the picture below. The castle in the background is the one we went to and a short time after we got back the water began to rise, again. However, I had a lot of fun:

.

.

.

8 thoughts on “St. Malo

  1. Haven’t been to France yet, hopefully I will. But these wonderful photos make me think of towns I’ve seen in Italy and Portugal. Even the old city in Quebec looks very similar. Thanks for sharing!

  2. France is truly one of the places to visit.
    @Sandy, perhaps the similarity is because of a related past…

    Edit: Today it’s exactly two years that I travelled to France.

  3. That looks incredible! I think the weather was perfect for the castle. What a neat city! I love the little streets. I didn’t get to the coast when I was in France. Just Paris,Orlean, and Briancon – way back 22 years ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

