The addiction of online computer games

I suppose everybody who has an account with Facebook knows what I am talking about: The incredible appeal  of online games, be it MafiaWars, Farmville or any other of the thousands of games that you need nothing else for than your WebBrowser.

But what makes them so addictible?! I suppose it’s a combination of several factors:

  1. All your friends in Facebook seem to play (of course, everybody is playing a different game, so you have to play ALL of them)
  2. All your friends playing the same games as you seem to be much more SUCCESSFUL than you are, so you’re feeling a bit competitive about this and feel you’re not able to quit
  3. You just HAVE to play. Opening your browser you swear to yourself, that this will be the last time to harvest your crops or help the don, but in the end you sow new seeds… just for the last time.
  4. You just need something to relax and these games are just SOOOO relaxing

Well, I think there are hundreds of reasons and I don’t want to make this a ethical post. I was just thinking about this some time ago, when I started to quit. I had been playing Farmville quite extensively, checking my crops first thing in the morning and last thing in the evening. So I decided I would stop this frenzy and stop playing altogether. I succeeded in doing so for a few weeks, but in the end when I checked into my Facebook account and saw the many presents waiting from my friends I couldn’t resist. So I’m back to playing now. I grant myself three games that I’m playing regularly and an hour a day to keep them “Updated”. Nothing more and nothing less. I’m quite comfortable now and I don’t have to think about the games all the time. Actually, I started to spend more time with my family again and I think I’ll try out some board games during the Christmas holidays. I”m gonna tell you which I liked and which not… Keep following and thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “The addiction of online computer games

  1. Deiala,
    I totally get it! I was playing quite a few on there and was getting overwhelmed with all the requests. I no longer follow nor do any requests. I just update and comment on statuses. Life is much better now. I love your new banner. 🙂

  2. Im glad you posted this. We see more and more of this going around. There was even a talk given on this in my church a few months ago. We just all need to be checking our lives for balance on a regular basis.

    Happy Saturday Sharefest!

  3. I go back and forth with those games, I’ll play one like a crazy person for a week or so and then get bored, have a break for a week or so and change to another.

    My mum is totally addicted to bejewelled on facebook!

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

  4. I try really hard to stay away from “those” games… I don’t want to get sucked in.

    Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day!! I love meeting new people!

  5. Right now I don’t play any games. I don’t have the time. I’m either cleaning or reading other blogs or cleaning or trying to write my novel..so I don’t have time for games. I did use to play Sims though.

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

  6. I get so addicted. I’m trying to beat my mom on Farmville but I don’t think that will happen. haha.

    I love computer games they are fun to take your mind off of anything serious for awhile.

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

Leave a Reply

