Working on Saturdays

People I talk to about my job often ask me, if I don’t hate to get up as early as 5 am on saturdays. To be honest, I don’t. I love mornings and getting up to the sunrise. Of course, it’s hard in winter, when you get up and it’s absolutely dark and cold outside, but there is nothing comparable to the atmosphere of walking through a sleeping city. Especially, if you also know the streets when they’re buzzing with life.

Today was one of this mornings. Last week, fog had greeted me; this morning, it was raining. I didn’t see it when I first looked out of the window, because I didn’t have my glasses on, so I was a bit surprised by the intensity when I left the house. Walking through empty streets with an umbrella when it’s raining almost creates a feeling of walking in a forest. You only hear your footsteps and the raindrops falling onto the umbrella as if they were falling on leaves. Unfortunately I again forgot my photo camera, but I’m on duty next Saturday again and I’m sure to take it with me then.

Leave a Reply

