Yoga

I found out about Yoga when I was rummaging in one of the multiple book shelves at my parents house. We have this one shelf which has all kinds of health books in it. Reading along the book covers I came across Richard Hittleman’s Yoga 28-day excercise plan

Source

As I didn’t know anything about Yoga, I took the book and tried the plan. Needless to say that I stuck with it until today. The excercises are a great way to wake up in the morning or calm down and relax in the evening. The programm by Hittleman is perfect for beginners. The excercises are easy to follow thanks to the really good descriptions. Once you have started and noticed how stiff your body is you’ll never want to stop.

This year I tried another form which is called Sampoorna Yoga. It’s very much like Richard Hittleman’s Yoga practice, though it involves a bit more of meditation. I have to admit that at the beginning I was a bit taken aback to sit in a room with 12 other people chanting “Ohm”, but now, that I got used to it, it seems to have been the aspect to complete my practice.

At the moment I’m working on some Yoga sequences which I’ll post here later, so you can also try them. In the meantime, if you are interested in learning more about Yoga you will find the homepage of the Yoga Journal helpful.

3 thoughts on “Yoga

Leave a Reply

